summer and fall

So I’ve been a pretty worthless blogger over the past six weeks due to some good friends visiting from the states and a bit of traveling around the continent. Now I’m done with any fun summer antics and ready to get ‘back to work’ in what could be a hectic few months. In that time I have to:

1) Research/Write my MA dissertation. In very crude terms, it’s going to consist of a philosophical reading of Latin American liberation theology, with specific reference to the ontology (or lack thereof) present within much of the literature. I hope to use the work of Alain Badiou, and specifically the notions of subjectivity and intensities of existence found in Logics of Worlds, to work towards an ontology of emancipation of some sort in contrast to the ideologies of liberation found in much Latin American thought. At some point I also hope to handle the question of Badiou’s ‘fifth generic procedure’, which many have noted seems to be religion, Christianity in particular. We’ll see how it all pans out though.

2) Finish an abstract on ‘Meillassoux’s messianic atheism’ for the Continental Philosophy of Religion conference in Oxford this September.

3) Write a paper on Badiou and Latin American liberation thought for the Grandeur of Reason conference in Rome.

4) Finish book reviews for the Journal of Cultural and Religious Theory and Political Theology

and probably the biggest event of the summer….

4) Pack up my life in Nottingham and drag it up to Dundee, Scotland. Although many already know this, I’ve yet to ‘blog about it; I’m going to the University of Dundee to start a PhD in philosophy with John Mullarkey. It was a tough decision, as I was also accepted into the PhD program in theology here at Nottingham, but after much thought I decided that Dundee provided the best department and supervision for my research interest. Although I’m a bit intimidated about moving to a philosophy department, I think after an initial period of fear and anxiety I’ll do just fine.

Well, that’s what I have going on for the rest of the summer, and I plan to start posting some early reading notes/thoughts relating to my dissertation real soon.

6 thoughts on “summer and fall

  1. naughtthought says:

    Your project sounds interesting and congrats on being able to study with Mullarkey – I’m reading his text right now.

    I’m wondering if you’d be interested in discussing Meillassoux’s divinology especially since I’m writing a paper on it right now and would like your feedback.
    Sorry if it seems like I’m coming out of nowhere with this I’m just very geared up in regards to Speculative Realism and particularly Meillassoux’s religious thought right now.

  2. michaeloneillburns says:

    naughtthought.

    thanks. and I’d for sure be interested in discussing Meillassoux’s divinology. Feel free to post something here or email me at mykeburns[at]gmail[dot]com and we can get a conversation about his work going.

    also, not sure where you’re located, but there is going to be a panel on Speculative Realism and Religion at the Grandeur of Reason conference in Rome featuring Meillassoux, Iain Grant, Dustin McWherter and John Milbank. Hopefully we’ll be able to get some audio or transcripts from the event.

  3. Alex says:

    Audio/transcripts will occur if I have anything to do with it. Conor has me on finding him the facilities to record the event.

  4. naughtthought says:

    I posted an excerpt from an essay I’m writing on Meillassoux on Speculative Heresy (the essay also is about quantum mechanics but I didn’t put that stuff in). Mostly I’m trying to reconcile Meillassoux’s necessity of contingency and non-contradiction with the possibility of a God.

    Sadly, I am in the states so I’ll be enjoying that conference via recording and hopefully some transcripts.

  5. Grant says:

    Burnsy! So excited!

  6. augustinian says:

    Basically, if I can listen to these lectures on my mp3 player afterwards, I’m totally gonna feel fine about falling asleep in Zizek’s lecture. I shall even try to. On the front row or something. Leaning on a Milbank.

    And I’m not sure if I’m gonna forgive you before I see you in Rome for leaving Nottingham, Michael. Just so you know in case I belch in your face or something. It will be on purpose.

Leave a Reply

