Being No One: Symposia

I’ve been quite useless as far as ‘worthwhile’ blogging goes recently; mostly because I’ve been deeply caught in the throes of both dissertating and procrastinating.

I did recently stumble upon something quite interesting and figured I would share it. In 2005 the journal PSYCHE: an interdisciplinary journal of research on consciousness published a symposia issue focusing on Metzinger’s ‘Being No One’. The full issue is available in free PDF files and consist of a very useful precis of the work by Metzinger, which serves to be quite helpful as not many of us have the time to read the 700+ work in its entirety; as well as commentaries from leading figures who work in what can broadly be defined as ‘neurophilosophy’, or, ‘phenomenology of mind’.  So far I’ve only had the chance to skim the first and last pieces, the later being Dan Zahavi’s essay ‘Being Someone’, and the former being Shaun Gallagher’s ‘Metzinger’s Matrix: Living the Virtual Life with a Real Body’.

Speaking of Zahavi and Gallagher, they recently published a work entitled ‘The Phenomenological Mind’ which seems to be an important intervention in phenomenological approaches to mind and consciousness.  Oddly enough, the journal ABSTRACTA recently published a symposia issue on this work which is also available online here. I haven’t read any of these essays yet, but the precis and response from Gallagher and Zahavi should prove helpful in getting a quick grasp of their overall project at this point.

I hope to get my hands on both these works (Being No One and The Phenomenological Mind) sometime this fall when I start my PhD research, so hopefully I’ll be able to write about each a bit here and have some debate on the ideas present in each work.

That’s all I’ve got for now, back to my comparative study of the subject  in ‘Being and Event’ and ‘Logiques des Mondes’….

2 thoughts on “Being No One: Symposia

  1. Nick says:

    thanks for the links, these articles all look great. i haven’t had a chance to make it through metzinger’s mammoth book yet either, but hopefully soon!

  2. Jack says:

    Mike,

    I don’t know if Bear got a chance to forward you my message but the government here shut down facebook so I don’t know if you tried to message me or not.

    Write me at thatguyintunisia@gmail.com

    Thanks,

    Jack

Leave a Reply

